Want to get your business noticed locally?

Cricket: Greater Manchester Cricket League 2018 structure

Date published: 02 August 2017

The structure for the 2018 Greater Manchester Cricket League will consist of 11 divisions with a Premier League and five pairs of divisions below. There will  be promotion and relegation throughout, with regionalisation at tiers five and six only.

Martin Kay, chairman of the GMCL, said: "We are delighted to welcome so many new clubs into our competition for 2018.

"The model we built to bring increased competition to league cricket has been a great success and continues in 2017 with promotion places still open to most clubs in every division and the Premiership title within reach of over half the teams in the division.

"I have no doubt that the new clubs will add to that competitiveness and they will be challenging for titles and promotion from their very first game.

"The Board has worked hard to get this plan together and agree the contents in the short space of time available from knowing the final number joining us.

"We send everyone best wishes for the remainder of GMCL2017 and PCL2017 and we hope that GMCL2018 will be the best yet.” 

GMCL Clubs

Premier League relegation and Division One promotions remain in place at end of 2017.
No other relegation at the end of 2017 for GMCL clubs.

New Clubs

New clubs will join the league across tiers two to six based on criteria and success.  
Best First XIs will be only one year away from the Premier League.
Actual placement to follow.


Derek Kay and Championship Cup to be retained similar to 2017 format.
New First XI cup to be introduced.
Former Pennine League clubs to also compete for their old trophies.

GMCL 2018

Ashton CC
Ashton Ladysmith CC
Astley & Tyldesley CC
Austerlands CC
Bamford Fieldhouse CC
Blackley CC
Bolton Indians CC
Brooksbottom CC
Bury CC
Clifton CC
Deane & Derby CC
Denton CC
Denton St Lawrence CC
Denton West CC
Droylsden CC
Dukinfield CC
East Lancs Paper Mill CC
Edenfield CC
Edgworth CC
Egerton CC
Elton CC
Elton Vale CC
Europa CC
Failsworth Macedonia CC
Flixton C&SC
Flowery Field CC
Fothergill & Harvey CC
Friarmere CC
Friends Sporting Club Manchester
Friends United CC
Glodwick CC
Glossop CC
Greenfield CC
Greenmount CC
Heyside CC
Heywood CC
Hindley St Peters CC
Hollinwood CC
Irlam CC
Littleborough Lakeside CC
Micklehurst C&SC
Monton CC
Moorside CC
Newton Heath CC
Oldham CC
Oldham West CC
Prestwich CC
Radcliffe CC
Rochdale Catholic Club CC
Roe Green CC
Royton CC
Saddleworth CC
Shaw CC
South West Manchester CC
Springhead CCC
Stayley CC
Stand CC
Stretford CC
Swinton Moorside CC
Thornham CC
Tottington St Johns CC
Unsworth CC
Uppermill CC
Walshaw CC
Werneth CC
Westleigh CC
Whalley Range CC
Winton CC
Woodbank CC
Woodhouses CC
Worsley CC
Wythenshawe C&SC

To contact the LittleboroughLocal news desk, email info@littleboroughlocal.co.uk or visit our news submission page.

To get the latest news on your desktop or mobile, follow LittleboroughLocal on Twitter and Facebook.


Serenity by Kim Gregory.